16th June 2013 – First Day of the Season

Well, today is going to be my first session of the season.  I was up at 5am setting up two rods with my Fred Crouch Jets, and sorting out the rest of my gear.  Bait for today will be either elips pellets or CC Moore Meteor boilies.

The unfortunate coinciding with Fathers’ Day has delayed my visit so I’ll probably not get to the river before 5pm.  The conditions look good with an air temp of around 18 degrees and overcast.  The river’s been pretty low lately, so the recent drop of rain should have had a positive effect.

I’ve already heard from Jerry Gleeson, who started on the Etherow at midnight.  He had a barbel of over 9lb.  To compound my misery, or should I say increase my envy, John Crabtree has already had a fish over 8lb from the Goyt.

Leave a Reply

